TuaRes to distribute second round of food and hygiene support packages

May 5, 2020: In early April, we distributed emergency supplies of rice and soap to the families of our student participants in Burkina Faso. Our programs are implemented in low-income communities which are extremely susceptible to economic shocks.

 After the first distribution, our team began surveying a sample of the recipients to discuss their current situation with the ongoing quarantine measures. Of the families we spoke with, nearly all reported that they were experiencing increased insecurity during this time. Over half of the heads of households have completely halted their income-generating activities. To respond to their increased food insecurity, some heads of households reported, among other strategies, asking friends and family for assistance, reducing daily food rations for household members, or sending children away to another family member ‘s house. Not a single family reported that they had received any support from the government or from any organization besides TuaRes.

The number of coronavirus infections continues to rise in Burkina Faso. Worryingly, in a country of nearly 20 million people, there are only 11 functioning respirators throughout the entire country. The strict quarantine measures that have been implemented are necessary because the country’s health care system easily could become overwhelmed. However, the families of the small business owners, farmers, taxi drivers, and laborers with whom we work desperately need support.

Thus, we have begun the second phase of our food and hygiene support distribution to all 707 families associated with our programs. During the final days of April, our team is working with local community leaders to distribute corn, oil and sugar to augment their food supplies. Additionally, we are distributing our TuaRes hygiene kits which include soap and other hygienic products. We know that these support packages are greatly needed and will provide a great amount of relief. 

We are grateful for the continued support of the TuaRes community. Because of you, we are able to provide nearly 4,000 people in Burkina Faso direct aid during these difficult times. Likewise, we have enabled our partner organization, Afrique Decide, to distribute food to the families of our student participants in Benin.

We greatly appreciate your continued support. If you wish to support TuaRes in this outreach, please donate via bank transfer or PayPal.

Your donations will only used to sponsor project activities and will directly reach our beneficiaries. Your donations do not cover administrative costs.


TuaRes Stiftung
Hypovereinsbank
IBAN: DE11700202700015201977
BIC/SWIFT: HYVEDEMMXXX




April 1, 2020: At the time of this writing, there are 261 confirmed COVID-19 cases in Burkina Faso and 14 deaths, and the numbers are growing fast. Schools have been closed since March 16 and the Burkinabé government has implemented further restrictions to slow the rising threat of the pandemic by officially closing markets, commercial spaces and forbidding large gatherings. There is now a curfew, halted travel and transport in and out of the country, and a quarantine of affected cities.

These measures are putting a significant strain on certain populations. The country’s health system is weak. The social distancing restrictions are nearly impossible to apply for the majority of people who operate in the informal sector. They live day to day with the income they get from their daily activities. The crisis will affect the most vulnerable in a dramatic way. As a matter of survival, they will not be able to observe these measures. Without access to savings or a salary, their livelihood depends on their ability to run their business or commerce. This will put them at a greater health risk. As the crisis deepens, families will quickly run out of food supplies. As schools are closed, TuaRes cannot provide girls with their daily school meals.

We are focusing on basic needs NOW.

As of this week, we are distributing bags of rice, and soap to 700 families of TuaRes girls and expect to reach about 4000 persons in support of their livelihood.  We are also running an information campaign, supported by local leaders, to share information about health and safety. TuaRes also sponsors Savings groups for mothers. This will be a critical safety net allowing them to purchase daily rations of vegetables. We believe that our support will make a huge difference.

We are grateful to our team in Burkina Faso, who are coordinating these distributions. All staff members will be equipped with protective equipment and disinfectants to keep them safe during this outreach. Our offices in Munich and Ouagadougou and our Girls Friendly Spaces remain closed until further notice, however all staff members continue to work remotely.

TuaRes verteilt die zweite Runde Nahrungsmittel- und Hygiene-Pakete

5. Mai 2020: Anfang April verteilten wir Notvorräte mit Reis und Seife an die Familien unserer Schülerinnen in Burkina Faso. Unsere Programme werden in einkommensschwachen Gemeinden durchgeführt, die extrem anfällig für wirtschaftliche Einbrüche sind.

Nach der ersten Verteilung begann unser Team mit der Befragung einiger Familien, um ihre aktuelle Situation mit den laufenden Quarantänemaßnahmen zu besprechen. Von den Familien, mit denen wir sprachen, berichteten fast alle, dass sie sich sehr unsicher fühlen und mit Sorge in die Zukunft blicken. Über die Hälfte der Eltern mussten ihre einkommenssichernden Aktivitäten vollständig einstellen. Als Reaktion auf ihre erhöhte Versorgungsunsicherheit berichteten einige Eltern unter anderem, dass sie Freunde und Familie um Hilfe baten, die täglichen Lebensmittelrationen für die Haushaltsmitglieder zu reduzierten oder Kinder in das Haus eines anderen Familienmitglieds wegschickten. Nicht eine einzige Familie berichtete, dass sie Unterstützung von der Regierung oder von einer anderen Organisation als TuaRes erhalten hätte.

Die Zahl der Coronavirus-Infektionen nimmt in Burkina Faso weiter zu. Beunruhigend ist, dass es in einem Land mit fast 20 Millionen Menschen landesweit nur 11 funktionierende Atemschutzgeräte gibt. Die strikten Quarantänemaßnahmen, die ergriffen wurden, sind notwendig, weil das Gesundheitssystem des Landes leicht überlastet werden könnte. Die Familien der Kleinunternehmer, Bauern, Taxifahrer und Arbeiter, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, brauchen jedoch dringend Unterstützung.

 Deshalb haben wir mit der zweiten Phase der Verteilung unserer Nahrungsmittel- und Hygieneunterstützung an alle 707 Familien begonnen, die mit unseren Programmen verbunden sind. Seit den letzten Apriltagen arbeitet unser Team mit den Vorsitzenden der lokalen Gemeinden zusammen, um Mais, Öl und Zucker zur Ergänzung ihrer Nahrungsmittelvorräte zu verteilen. Zusätzlich verteilen wir unsere TuaRes-Hygienekits, die Seife und andere Hygieneprodukte enthalten. Wir wissen, dass diese Hilfspakete dringend benötigt werden und eine große Hilfe darstellen werden.

Wir sind dankbar für die anhaltende Unterstützung der TuaRes-Gemeinschaft. Dank Ihnen sind wir in der Lage, fast 4.000 Menschen in Burkina Faso in diesen schwierigen Zeiten direkte Hilfe zu leisten. Ebenso haben wir es unserer Partnerorganisation Afrique Decidé ermöglicht, Nahrungsmittel an die Familien unserer Schülerinnen in Benin zu verteilen.

Wir wissen Ihre anhaltende Unterstützung sehr zu schätzen. Wenn Sie TuaRes bei diesem Einsatz unterstützen möchten, spenden Sie bitte per Banküberweisung oder PayPal.

Ihre Spenden werden nur für Projektkosten verwendet. Ihr Geld kommt also direkt den Mädchen in Burkina Faso zu Gute. Sämtliche Verwaltungskosten werden vom Gründer der Stiftung persönlich getragen. 

TuaRes Stiftung
Hypovereinsbank
IBAN: DE11700202700015201977
BIC/SWIFT: HYVEDEMMXXX




1. April 2020: Stand heute gibt es 261 bestätigte COVID-19 Infizierte in Burkina Faso und 14 Todesfälle und die Zahl der Infizierten steigt schnell weiter an. Seit dem 16. März sind die Schulen geschlossen und die burkinische Regierung hat weitere Beschränkungen eingeführt. 

Um die  Bedrohung durch die Pandemie zu verlangsamen, wurden Märkte und Geschäftsräume offiziell geschlossen und große Versammlungen verboten. Es gibt jetzt eine Ausgangssperre, Reiseverbote und die  betroffenen Orte wurden unter Quarantäne gestellt.

Diese Maßnahmen stellen eine erhebliche Belastung für den Großteil der Bevölkerung dar. Das Gesundheitssystem des Landes ist schwach. Für die Mehrheit der Menschen, die im informellen Sektor tätig sind, ist „soziale Distanzierung“  nahezu nicht umsetzbar.  Die Krise wird die Schwächsten in dramatischer Weise treffen. Sie haben keine Ersparnisse oder irgendeine Form der sozialen Sicherung. Ihr täglicher Lebensunterhalt hängt davon ab, ob sie ihr Geschäft oder ihren Handel betreiben können und dies wird sie wiederum einem größeren Gesundheitsrisiko aussetzen.  Mit der Verschärfung der Krise werden den Familien schnell die Nahrungsvorräte ausgehen. Da die Schulen geschlossen sind, kann TuaRes die Mädchen nicht mit ihren täglichen Schulmahlzeiten versorgen.

Wir konzentrieren uns ab jetzt auf die Grundbedürfnisse

Zur Stunde verteilen wir Reissäcke und Seife an 700 Familien von Tua-Res-Mädchen und rechnen damit etwa 4000 Personen zu erreichen. Wir führen auch eine Informationskampagne durch, die von lokalen Persönlichkeiten unterstützt wird, um Informationen über Gesundheit und Sicherheit zu verbreiten. TuaRes fördert auch einen Fonds für Mütter als zusätzliche Finanzierungsquelle. Damit können sie täglich Gemüse einkaufen. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass unsere Unterstützung die richtige Hilfe sein wird und eine enorme Wirkung erzielt.

Wir sind unserem Team in Burkina Faso sehr dankbar, dass es diese Verteilung koordiniert. Alle Mitarbeiter werden mit Schutzausrüstung und Desinfektionsmitteln ausgestattet damit sie sich während dieses Einsatzes nicht selber anstecken. Unsere Büros in München und Ouagadougou und unsere Begegnungsräume in den Schulen vor Ort bleiben bis auf Weiteres geschlossen, aber alle Mitarbeiter arbeiten im homeoffice weiter. Wir stehen regelmäßig über Skype in engem Kontakt.